Euro banknotes are issued in seven different denominations (€5, €10, €20, €50, €100, €200 and €500), and are legal tender throughout the euro area.

Each banknote features a style of European architecture:

  • Classical
  • Romanesque
  • Gothic
  • Renaissance
  • Baroque and Rococo
  • 19th century architecture
  • Modern 20th century


Windows and gateways are shown on the front of the banknotes, and symbolise the European spirit of openness and cooperation. The 12 stars of the European Union represent the dynamism and harmony of contemporary Europe.

This bridges on the back symbolise communication and cooperation between the people of Europe, and between Europe and the rest of the world.

The other design elements are:

  • the name of the currency - euro - in both the Latin (EURO) and Greek alphabets (EYPΩ);
  • the abbreviation of the European Central Bank in five linguistic variants - BCE, ECB, EZB, EKT and EKP - representing the 11 official languages of the EU when the first series was issued;
  • the symbol © indicating copyright protection; and
  • the EU flag.

The euro banknotes were designed by Robert Kalina, a designer from the Austrian central bank (Oesterreichische Nationalbank), who won a Europe-wide competition in 1996.

  • For more on the banknotes, see the ECB website Banknotes.
  • For more on the security features on euro banknotes, see the ECB website Security features.