Banknotes and coins

From 8 October 1991 to 31 December 2006 the currency unit of the Republic of Slovenia was the tolar.

Euro adoption

With the entry into force of the Act introducing the Euro, from 1 January 2007 Slovenia’s currency became the euro, and euro banknotes and coins became legal tender. Until 14 January 2007 there was a dual circulation period, in which tolar banknotes and coins could be used for cash payments.

The monetary unit in the Republic of Slovenia is Euro. Euro consists of 100 Cents. The abbreviation for this monetary unit is "EUR" and this is used in monetary transactions.

The nineteen member states of the European Union make up the eurozone. Austria, Belgium, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal and Spain have introduced euro banknotes and euro coins, which were first released into circulation on 1 January 2002. In Slovenia the euro became the currency on 1 January 2007, in Malta and Ciper on 1 January 2008, in Slovakia on 1 January 2009, in Estonia on 1 January 2011, in Latvia on 1 January 2014, and in Lithuania, the eurozone’s latest member, on 1 January 2015.

More Histrory of EMU

Euro coins and banknotes

There are seven denominations of euro banknote in circulation (5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200, 500 euros), which are the same throughout the eurozone.

Euro coins are issued in eight denominations: 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, 50 cents and 1 and 2 euros. They have a common (European) side and an obverse (national) side for each member state of the eurozone. All coins – regardless of the different national sides – are legal tender throughout the eurozone.
More information on euro banknotes and euro coins can be found in the chapter Economic and Monetary Union.

More on ECB web page The €uro

Eurosystem position on cash as a means of payment

One of the basic tasks of the Eurosystem under the Treaty on the Functioning of the EU is to promote the smooth operation of the payment system. The Eurosystem is neutral with regard to the different payment instruments. It does not favour one instrument over another. However, the Eurosystem central banks have a special responsibility for cash, as they are the official issuers of euro banknotes. In addition, most of them put into circulation the euro coins, which are issued by the Member States. Therefore, the Eurosystem is committed to supporting cash as a generally available, easy-to-use, reliable and efficient means of payment for retail transactions. Within its sphere of competence, the Eurosystem monitors and continuously seeks to promote the safety, resilience and efficiency of the euro area cash cycles. (Source: ECB)