30th anniversary of the European Union flag (2015)

The Flag of Europe is a distinctive emblem of the European Union. The flag is blue with 12 gold stars arranged in a circle, which symbolises the unity, solidarity and connectedness of the nations of Europe.
The idea of a European flag first arose in 1955, when the Council of Europe adopted a blue flag with 12 yellow (gold) stars as a symbol of the organisation. In 1983 it was also adopted by the European Parliament, before the leaders of the European Union (the European Community at that time) confirmed it as the official flag of the European Union in June 1985.


Commemorative coins 

To mark the 30th anniversary of the flag as the official emblem of the European Union, the Member States of the euro area are issuing 2-euro commemorative coins with a common design (the Flag of Europe surrounded by 12 stylised people). In addition to this design, the coin also bears the inscription “1985-2015” and the name of the issuing country in the national language.
Coin designer: George Stamatopoulos, Greece.
Minting: Istituto Poligrafico e Zecca dello Stato S.p.A., Rome / Italy.

  • Minted: 1 million coins.
  • Date of issue: 7 December 2015. 

Official Journal of the EU, 2015/C 253/09 (1. 8. 2015).



The list of Banka Slovenije's numismatic products and their availability as well as their price can be found at the following web page.